Dr Hoffmann

Pig & Dan

bs235 / Techno / 02.12.2013

artist biography

Looking back, the meeting of minds during a chance encounter of Igor Tchkotoua (Pig) and Dan Duncan on a flight to Spain in 1999, sounds like the opening scene of a Hollywood movie, certainly neither musician could have the written the script of what happened next.  Recognizing a mutual philosophy, and using their own musical background that dated back to the start of the dance scene, they combined to create a slick production outfit that would entrance clubbers and soon win compilation support from the likes of Sander Kleinenberg, Felix Da Housecat, John Digweed and Nic Fanciulli.  Most significantly though, their tech tour de force ʻOh Yeahʼ (2005) signalled the start of their ongoing relationship with Cocoon Recordings, which has seen their status as DJs and producers soar on a global level.

From humble beginnings in late 80s, playing the tea boy and exploring the workings of a recording studio, both Igorʼs & Dan’s experiences stem from an era of primitive technology and old fashioned production techniques.  Dan’s own history saw him as part of the hugely successful drum ʻnʼ bass act, Intense, during which time he also played alongside luminaries such as LTJ Bukem and Fabio & Grooverider. 

When Pig & Dan decided to join forces, they began a truly prolific production schedule – with 18 releases in just over year – establishing their reputation as producers of pulsating electronic music that straddled dark house and high energy techno whilst creating their signature of twisted and experimental breakdowns.  These releases on their label Submission would prove to be merely a stepping stone though. 

In 2005, they commenced Sonic Society and focused more toward the edgy minimal that would attract Cocoon Recordings, as well as all the leading jocks such as Sven Vath, Loco Dice and Tiefschwarz.  As testament to their continued master production skills, the disturbingly dark ʻOh Yeahʼ has been followed by 8 more releases on the seminal Frankfurt imprint, including their own artist album, ʻImagineʼ.  During this time, their profile as in-demand remixers has reached the point where such electronic pioneers as Underworld were coming back for more! 

2012 was an exciting year in Pig & Dan’s 10 year strong career.  After releasing their much acclaimed fourth studio album “Decade” the dynamic duo celebrated  five Beatport top tens, and sixteen top hundred releases.  They achieved more than ever before with an amazing flow of monster productions on the world’s top Techno/Tech house labels Soma, Bedrock, Cocoon, Suara, and Tronic. 

Apart from the immense amount of studio work they’ve still been constantly spreading their word by playing at some of the best events worldwide and have a super solid schedule set for the future. 

Blind Spot Radio Show 235

Pig & Dan & Dr Hoffmann



This week the mighty Pig & Dan duo is joining to Dr Hoffmann on Blind Spot Show for the "usual" interview and 60 minutes exclusive hot mix. Dr Hoffmann also is bringing you his techno hot picks of the week.  Few names: James Ruskin, Flug, UZB, Robert Hood, Exium, Oscar Mulero, Ricardo Garduno... You can hear in the show Dr Hoffmann & Gabeen's rework for Marco Asoleda - Spot that came out this week on Blind Spot Music.


Blind Spot Radio Show 235 | Pig & Dan & Dr Hoffmann

Dr Hoffmann:

01, Juho Kahilainen – Coronal Loop / M-Rec Ltd Grey Series
02, Oscar Mulero – Breakdown / Huehelix
03, Ricardo Garduno – Nanalu (Marc Troit Remix) / Abstract Mechanisms
04, Volster – ST003 / Evasion Room Records
05, Exium – Grainer / Psychoskunk Recordings
06, Kike Pravda – Amplitude (Oscar Mulero Remix) / Senoid
07, AS400 – As 303 Pt1 (Matthias Woot 1.1. Remix) / Vokodek Music
08, Komprezzor – Reflection (Jumex Refunction Remix) / Vector Functions
09, Yuuki Sakai – Coaq / Sonntag Morgen
10, Lee J Malcolm – Onestar-Applicant (James Ruskin Remix) / EPM
11, Robert Hood – Alarm / M-Plant
12, Dorian Knox – Inception / Silent Storm
13, Gary Beck & Speedy J – Vaag (Hans Bouffmyhre Remix) / BEK Audio
14, UZB – Another Ganz (Flug Remix) / Android Muziq
15, Positive Merge – The Line (Akasoundsite Remix) / Soundsite
16, Marco Asoleda – Spot (Gabeen & Dr Hoffmann Remix) / Blind Spot Music


01, Ivan Iacobucci - FuQ / Vierzehnnullvier
02, Sten - The Essence / Dial Records
03, Jacek Sinkiewicz - Independence / Klang Elektronik
04, Marcel Dettmann - Reticie / Ostgut Ton
05, DVS1, Zak Khutoretsky - Polyphonic Love / Transmat
06, Jon Hester - Shouts In The Dark (Lost In The Dark Mix) / EDEC
07, Floorplan - Basic Principle / M-Plant
08, Truncate - Truncate 17 / Enemy Records
09, Jon Hester - Heater / EDEC
10, Etap Kyle - Prizma / Klockworks
11, Limo - My Sunday (Roman Lindau Remix) / Out Electronic Recordings
12, Minilogue - Clouds and Water (Jesper Dahlback Cloudy Dub Remix) / Enemy
13, Regal – Mute / Enemy
14, Roland Klinkenberg - Onkydrummer / Archipel